bio

 

 

Anna Baranowski was born in Bytom, Poland in 1983. Today she lives secluded in a small hut in the forests of East Germany and works on her art. In 2012 she received her diploma in media art with distinction at the Academy of Visual Arts Leipzig. After her studies, she took part in numerous exhibitions like the 7th Berlin Biennale „Forget Fear“ in 2012 and received scholarships, such as the work grant from the Kunstfonds Bonn Art Foundation in 2018. During the last years she joined different artist in residence programs, for instance the Greater Columbus Arts Council in Columbus Ohio, USA.  
As a contemporary artist and filmmaker Anna Baranowski works on omnipresent, existential questions of the human being. The techniques vary between video installation, photography, sculpture and interventions in the media public space. An always returning subject of her works is the struggle between power and faint in current society. In doing so, she looks at historical legacies in everyday life and reflects collective psychological phenomena of human behaviour. Observations of humans in the mass-media discourse serve as the resource for her social studies. Besides, digital social networks open to her doors to worlds that once have been closed. In the field of experimental and documentary film Anna Baranowski focuses on Direct Cinema. She always uses documentary material in her works. In addition to her own in detail composed cinematic images, the use of archival footage is central to her experimental films. She uses a wide variety of sources, such as amateur footage, NASA or military footage. By taking them out of their original context, her works unleash new meanings. In her artful collages there are always sequences that jar, that if anything skew obvious expectations and for that very reason trigger inner processes.

 


education

2012   Diploma Fine Arts / exam passed with distinction

2005 - 2012   Studies of Media Art at the Academy of Visual Arts Leipzig in the Class for Mass Media Research and Art in Public Media Space (Prof. Günther Selichar)

 

 


scholarships / nominations / awards


2021 Nominated for NEW POSITIONS, sponsorship programme for solo presentations by young emerging artists at the ART COLOGNE. Supported by the BVDG (Bundesverband Deutscher Galelerien und Kunsthändler), the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media, the Federal State of North Rhine-Westphalia and the ART COLOGNE fair itself. Anna Baranowski will be part of the showcase of Gallery EIGEN + ART Berlin/Leipzig

 

2020 Artist in Residence at the Off Season Residency in Vlora, Albania (Goethe-Institut Bukarest, AFCN - Administration of the National Cultural Fund Romania, Goethe-Zentrum Tirana)

 

2018 Scholarship by the Bonn Art Foundation (Stiftung Kunstfonds)

 

2018 Artist in Residence at the Greater Columbus Arts Council in Columbus, Ohio, USA. Scholarship by the Arts Council of the Free State of Saxony

2018 Nominated for the 3rd PORTRAITS - Hellerau Photography Award

 

2016 Sponsorship by the Ministry of Justice, Cultural and European Affairs Schleswig-Holstein / production of the project „relics“

 

2016 Nominated for the 6th International Marianne Brandt Award

 

2016 Artist in Residence at Otte 1 – the Schleswig-Holstein Artists Residency in Eckernförde, Germany

 

2015 Sponsorship of the production of the artist´s monograph by the Arts Council of the Free State of Saxony

 

2014 Scholarship by the Arts Council of the Free State of Saxony

 

2008 Received the first prize of the study award of the Academy`s Association

 


collections


2018 Collection of the Thuringian State Museum Heidecksburg
2013 Collection of the Kunstfonds (Art Fund) of the Free State of Saxony
 

exhibitions

Different - aesthetics of difference

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

04.07. until 27.10.2020 / opening: Friday, 03.07. 2020 16-20h

 

New gallery for contemporary art - Gera
Häselburg
Burgstrasse 12
07545 Gera

ngfzk@haeselburg.org / Tel: +49 (0) 365 55 24 68 44 / opening hours Tue, Wed, Fri-Sun 13-17h, Thu 15-19h

 

Curated by Alejandro Perdomo Daniels

 

The term 'being different' is characterized by its perspective. It is based on the point of view of the speaker or perceiver. Instead of providing information about an empirically ascertainable reality, he points to models of perception and thought that are able to break down reality into categories. Categories that unfold along constructions of thought such as center-periphery, normality-abnormality, identity-alterity, health-illness, culture-subculture. The duality on which these constructions are based is characterized by a constitutive asymmetry: While one pole is considered normative and decisive, the other represents its defective deviation.

It is evident that relationships of privilege and power are involved. Because the point of view from which differences are made is embedded in the culture that makes it possible. And culture is created by people. The notion of deviation is related to the interests of the group, which has a privileged, dominant position in the social fabric: the majority society, which sees itself as normative, normal, central, healthy, uniform and self-identical, and which sees itself through language, science and reproduced art. The topos of the 'other' plays an important role in the construction of this self-image as self-assurance. The other is therefore a function of the self, through which power orders are cemented, which secure privileges: Are women the opposite sex? Is the peculiarity of the skin color of people with albinism a defect? Are mental disorders illnesses? Are homeless people failing society? Are migrants inferior strangers? Are queers the deformation of gender identity and heterosexuality? Is subculture the negation of culture?

These questions reveal that the 'other' is the construction of a self that declares itself to be a universal ordering principle and accordingly overlooks the peculiarity of its existence by focusing on differences. A self that completely excludes itself as a relative point of view. It is a fact of art history that artists as acting individuals refer to related issues and address the issue of being different. The approaches and perspectives that characterize such disputes are very different. This can be seen both in the expressions of those artists and in the content that they deal with. In addition, the concerns of such positions diverge considerably from one another: while some positions take a socially critical stance, others advocate appropriate representation or carry out acts of self-empowerment. Other positions, in turn, feel their way into the area without claiming a program, but with the need to express their subjective feelings.

 

The exhibition Different - Aesthetics of Difference presents a focused selection of both regional and national artists who deal with or reflect on the range of topics of being different. The focus is therefore not on determining the typological features that visual art has in the present, but on making the particularity of a topic tangible. A subject whose importance appears ever more urgent in the context of the cultural-political debates of the time. Taking this hurdle, eleven invited positions discuss the peculiarities, complexities and contradictions of being different. They are Arts of the Working Class (collective: Berlin), Anna Baranowski (Leipzig), Benedikt Braun (Weimar), Gino Dambrowski (Gera), Luisa Eugeni (Perugia), Gustavo Lacerda (São Paulo), Susann Maria Hempel (Greiz) , Rana Matloub (Erfurt), Claudia Rößger (Leipzig), Tejal Shah (Mumbai), Oskar Zaumseil (Greiz).

 

 

 

 

ART (RE_PUBLIC)

An exhibition in times of the suspended public

From May 1st to August 30th, 2020

HALL 14 - Center for Contemporary Art Leipzig Cotton Mill
Spinning mill 7
04179 Leipzig

officeØhalle14.org / T: +49 341 492 42 02 / opening times: Tue-Sat, 11 a.m. - 6 p.m. Barrier-free access


Opening: Friday, May 1, 2020,
3 p.m. online on Facebook and Instagram

AUDIO / PRELUDE: ARCU & OHM, Ya-Wen Fu, Sebastian Gögel, Angelika Rochhausen, Johannes Rochhausen

 

FROM THE COLLECTION / FROM THE COLLECTION: Sven Bergelt, Jens Besser, Nori Blume, Nadja Buttendorf, Yvon Chabrowski, Lutz Dammbeck, Eckehard Fuchs, Rainer Görß, Janet Grau, Falk Haberkorn, Harry Hachmeister, Mark Hamilton, Lena Rosa Händle,, Andreas Hildebrandt, Margret Hoppe, Britta Jonas, Susanne Keichel, Anja Kempe, Dirk Lange, Nora Mesaros, Dominik Meyer, Bruno Raetsch, Martin Reich, Evelyn Richter, Ute Richter, Daniel Rode, Ricarda Roggan, Luise Schröder & Anna Baranowski, Matti Schulz, Tilo Schulz, André Schulze, Gundula Schulze Eldowy, VIP, Ya-Wen Fu, Christoph Wetzel, Katrin Winkler, Tobias Zielony

 

Art is there for everyone. Yes! Nevertheless, there is a tension between art and the public. The value and originality of works of art have created a culture of care so that works cannot be easily borrowed and used. A ban on contact is generally applicable in exhibitions. After all, the works should not only be available for the present, but also for future generations. Special prior knowledge is often required to be able to access the works. Enjoying art in a group is common, but not always beneficial. Some works only reveal themselves in an intimate dialogue. The approaches to art that result from these tensions are the cause of numerous debates - and not only today.

Nevertheless: Art is there for everyone! The 19th century founded museums and art associations. In the 20th century, the educational reform movement invented museum pedagogy to address new target groups. In the second half of the 20th century, a state-sponsored museum boom renewed the ideal of a culture for everyone. In the GDR, an order system ensured the production of pictures that corresponded to the socialist ideas of popular and educational art. There was no free art market. Today, digitalization and net art renew the promise of accessibility and the production of art by everyone.

On the occasion of the 10th edition of the annual purchase exhibition of the cultural foundation of the Free State of Saxony "WIN / WIN", the project "ART (re_public)" takes a look at the collection of the art fund of the Dresden State Art Collection. Here the works of art are collected and researched, which the Free State of Saxony has purchased annually from artists since 1992. The Saxon Cultural Foundation has been making this purchase since 2005. An independent advisory board decides on the purchases. Over the past 30 years, more than 1000 works have been included in the art fund's collection. After the previously changing presentations at various locations in Saxony, the purchases since 2011 have been presented to the public in the exhibition series "WIN / WIN" immediately after the jury meeting. The aim of the »KUNST (re_public)« project is to explore the current relationship between art and the public using works from this collection.

This project was planned before the effects on the public life due to the worldwide spread of the new corona virus were even conceivable. Until recently, no one would have believed that the almost complete standstill of the public - worldwide - was possible. Now it is a matter of reinventing the relationship between our art institution and the public under the new conditions - always with the perspective that the restrictions could not only be reduced, but also strengthened again. Large openings and spinning tours will probably not be in the foreseeable future. It is still necessary to develop how events, school projects and courses can take place. The project will start on May 1, 2020, 15 years after the first large tour of the spinning mill, virtually on our online platforms. We present works from the collection and people related to them. The team at HALLE 14 put together a selection of works from the art fund during the lockdown. Can computer programs be helpful in the future to develop exhibitions and make collections more public? The artist Tillmann Ohm developed the artificial curator ArCu, who also made a selection of works from the acquisitions since 2011. We now want to discuss this selection with our audience - first online, later here on site.

past exhibitions

 

2019 Cologne / GER / Gallery BRUCH & DALLAS / Ideally (solo)

 

2019 Bukarest / ROM / Anca Poterasu Gallery /  Not everything means something, honey (vol. 2)

 

2019 Leipzig / GER / Galerie Eigen + Art / Not everything means something, honey

 

2019 Leipzig / GER / GFZK Galerie für Zeitgenössische Kunst / TRAKT IV

 

2018 München / GER / Størpunkt - Galerie für Zeitgenössische Kunst / MONUMENTAL

 

2018 Leipzig / GER / MONUMENTA FSTVL LPZG 2018 - Intelligence Of Many

 

2018 Graz / AU / KUNSTHAUS GRAZ - KULTUM / Glaube Liebe Hoffnung

 

2018 Dresden / GER / HELLERAU – Europäisches Zentrum für Zeitgenössiche Kunst / 3. PORTRAITS - Hellerau Photography Award

 

2018 München / GER / Størpunkt - Galerie für Zeitgenössische Kunst / LUXURIA

 

2017 Zagreb / HR / POGON – Zagreb Center for Independent Culture and Youth / Corpus Collective

 

2017 Dresden / GER / Motorenhalle. Projektzentrum für Zeitgenössische Kunst -Riesa Efau / OCCUPATION / Videoarbeiten aus dem Kunstfonds/Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden

 

2017  Bordeaux / FR / METAVILLA, Installation urbaine

 

2016 / 17   Chemnitz / GER / Industriemuseum Chemnitz / 6. Internationaler Marianne Brandt Wettbewerb - Materialeffekte

 

2016   Gera / GER / Häselburg / WesensArt

2016 Leipzig / GER / Kurzsüchtig - 13. Mitteldeutsches Kurzfilm Festival

 

2015 Dresden / GER /  Motorenhalle. Projektzentrum für Zeitgenössische Kunst -Riesa Efau / Wohin gehen wir?

 

2015 Leipzig / GER / KTR Galerie / INAUGURATION

 

2015 Essen / GER / Welterbe Zollverein / Contemporary Art Ruhr - C.A.R. Talente

2015 Berlin / GER / Galerie EIGEN + ART / offen/open

2015 Berlin / GER / Kreuzberg / SMALL SETS OF OPTIMISM FEED US WELL (solo)

2014 Leipzig / GER / Museum der bildenden Künste / Herz, Reiz & Gefühl

2013/14 Berlin / GER / Vertretung des Freistaates Sachsen beim Bund / Ausstellung des Kunstfonds

 

2013 Leipzig / GER / Baumwollspinnerei - Halle 14 / THE SUPERSHOW

2013 Gera / GER / Kunstverein Gera / Warten auf Gott

 

2013 Köln / GER / ANALOG Theater / BEING PHILOTAS


2013 Leipzig / GER / Baumwollspinnerei / WIN/WIN - Ankäufe der Kulturstiftung des Freistaates Sachsen 2013

2013 Bonn / GER / Bundeskunsthalle / 21. Bundeswettbewerb Kunststudentinnen und Kunststudenten stellen aus

2013 Leipzig / GER / Galerie EIGEN + ART / Gruppenausstellung junger internationaler Künstler

2013 Seoul / KOR / Korean Film Archive / Exis Festival - Academy Showcase

2012 Marseille / F / La GAD - Galerie Arnaud Deschin / Luna Park, The Barkeeper´s Daughter

2012 Montreuil / F / Les Rencontres du cinéma documentaire

2012 Kronach  /  GER  /  Festung Rosenberg  /  Festungen innen und aussen

2012 Gera  /  GER  /  Kunstverein Gera  /  Imaginary Landscape - Hommage an John Cage  

2012 Leipzig  /  GER  /  Kuhturm Galerie  /  CHAPITRE V - GANGS OF BRUXELLES

2012 Berlin / GER  / KW Institut für Zeitgenössischen Kunst / 7. Berlin Biennale für Zeitgenössischen Kunst

 

2012 Erfurt  /  GER  /  Galerie 7b  /  oki.doki- Dokumentarfilmschau

2012 Dresden / GER / Festspielhaus Hellerau / Junge Kunst Sachsen

2011 Leipzig / GER / Galerie A und V / LINDENOW # 7

2011 Szczecin / POL / Galeria VHS / Basic Instincts

2011 Augsburg / GER / Zeughaus Augsburg , Toskanischen Säulenhalle // TOLERABILIS

2011 Frankfurt am Main / GER / Hotel Poerty No. 4

2011 Tokio / J / Aichi Prefectural Museum of Art / Cityscapes


2011 Vilnius / LIT / Kino Pasaka / Editing Spaces. Reconsidering The Public.

2011 Frankfurt am Main / GER / Galerie am Dom / V Kunst Frankfurt 2011 - la vie en général

2011 Wien / AU / Österreichisches Fernsehen  - Okto TV / PAL Positions

2010 Leipzig / GER / Tapetenwerk / Video was my first love (solo)

2010 Halle (Saale) / GER / Galerie Die Schöne Stadt / ATTACK on LINKINGS

2010 Leipzig / GER / Messehof Leipzig + Public Media Space / In public relation

2010 Linz / AU/ Stockwerkegalerie im Power Tower / Kunst im Tower

2009 Dresden / GER / Galerie Doppel.DE / „On (plein) air“

2009 Bonn / GER / Galerie Böttger / Art in Public Space , Videonale Bonn

2008 Leipzig / GER / Galerie der Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst / Studienpreis des HGB Freundeskreises

2008 Leipzig / GER / Essential Existence Gallery / OPEN (Fast!)

2008 Copenhagen / DEN / Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts / SUBLIMINAL

2007 Leipzig / GER // Augustusplatz Leipzig // DING_UND_UN_DING / Interventionen im öffentlichen Raum


 

 © 2019 by Anna Baranowski

  • Grey Instagram Icon

bio

 

Anna Baranowski wurde 1983 in Bytom, Polen geboren.  Heute lebt sie in einer kleinen Hütte in den Wäldern Ostdeutschlands und arbeitet zurückgezogen an ihrer Kunst. 2012 erhielt sie an der Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst in Leipzig das Diplom der Medienkunst mit Auszeichnung . Nach ihrem Studium nahm sie an zahlreichen Ausstellungen im In- und Ausland, wie z.B. der Berlin Biennale „Forget Fear“ im Jahr 2012, teil. Sie  erhielt Stipendien, wie das Arbeitsstipendium der Stiftung Kunstfonds im Jahr 2018 und wurde in den letzten Jahren zu verschiedenen Künstlerresidenzen, wie z.B.  des  Greater Columbus Arts Councils  in Columbus, USA, eingeladen, um neue künstlerische Arbeiten zu entwickeln. Als Bildende Künstlerin und Filmemacherin bearbeitet sie allgegenwärtige, existentielle Fragen des menschlichen Seins. Die Techniken variieren dabei zwischen Videoinstallation, Fotografie, Skulptur und Interventionen im medialen öffentlichen Raum. Immer wiederkehrendes Sujet ihrer Werke ist das Ringen zwischen Macht und Ohnmacht. Dabei betrachtet sie historische Hinterlassenschaften im gegenwärtigen Alltag und reflektiert kollektive psychologische Phänomene menschlichen Verhaltens. Als Inspirationsquelle für ihre Sozialstudien dienen ihr Beobachtungen des Menschen im massenmedialen Diskurs. Digitale soziale Netzwerke öffnen ihr dabei Türen zu einst verschlossenen Welten.
Im Bereich des Experimental- und Dokumentarfilms richtet Anna Baranowski ihren Fokus auf Direct Cinema. Sie verwendet stets dokumentarisches Material in ihren Werken. Neben ihren eigenen, ins Detail komponierten filmischen Bildern, ist der Umgang mit Archivmaterial ein zentrales Element ihrer experimentellen Filme. Dabei nutzt sie unterschiedlichste Quellen, wie. z.B. Amateuraufnahmen, Aufnahmen der NASA oder des Militärs. Indem sie diese aus ihrem ursprünglichen Zusammenhang nimmt, setzen ihre Werke neue Bedeutungen frei. Ihre kunstvollen Collagen irritieren und stehen konträr zu den naheliegenden Erwartungen und lösen genau deswegen innere Prozesse aus - der Betrachter wird auf sich selbst zurückgeworfen und mit den eigenen Gefühlen konfrontiert.


ausbildung

2012   Diplom der Medienkunst mit Auszeichnung / Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst Leipzig

2005 - 2012   Studium der Medienkunst an der Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst in der Klasse für Mass Media Research und Kunst im öffentlichen medialen Raum bei Prof. Günther Selichar

 

 


stipendien / nominierungen / preise


2021 Nominierung für NEW POSITIONS, das Förderprogramm von Solo-Ausstellungen junger aufstrebender Künstler auf der ART COLOGNE. Gefördert von der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien aufgrund eines Beschlusses des Deutschen Bundestages. Unterstützt durch das Land Nordrhein-Westfalen, der ART Cologne und realisiert durch den Bundesverband Deutscher Galerien und Kunsthändler.

Anna Baranowskis Werk " Monumental" wird in der Förderkoje der Galerie EIGEN + ART Berlin/Leipzig zu sehen sein.

 

2020 Artist in Residence in der "Off Season Residency" in Vlora, Albanien (Goethe-Institut Bukarest, AFCN - Administration of the National Cultural Fund Romania, Goethe-Zentrum Tirana)

 

2018 Arbeitsstipendium der Stiftung Kunstfonds Bonn

 

2018 Aufenthaltsstipendium beim Greater Columbus Arts Council in Columbus/Ohio, gefördert von der Kulturstiftung des Freistaates Sachsen

 

2018 Nominierung für den 3. PORTRAITS - Hellerau Photography Award

 

2016 Projektstipendium des Ministeriums für Justiz, Kultur und Europa des Landes Schleswig-Holstein / Förderung des Projektes „Altlast“

 

2016 Nominierung für den 6. Internationalen Marianne Brandt Preis

 

2016 Artist in Residence im OTTE 1 – Das Schleswig-Holsteinische Künstlerhaus in Eckernförde

 

2015 Projektstipendium der Kulturstiftung des Freistaates Sachsen / Förderung der Produktion einer Künstlermonographie

 

2014 Arbeitsstipendium der Kulturstiftung des Freistaates Sachsen

 

2008  1. Platz beim Studienpreis des Freundeskreises der Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst Leipzig

 

 


sammlungen


2018 Sammlung des Thüringer Landesmuseums Heidecksburg
2013 Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden, Kunstfonds

 

 

aktuelle ausstellungen

Anders - Ästhetik der Differenz

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

04.07. bis 27.09.2020 / Eröffnung: Freitag, 03.07. 2020 16-20h

Neue Galerie für Zeitgenössische Kunst - Gera
Häselburg
Burgstraße 12
07545 Gera

ngfzk@haeselburg.org / Tel: +49 (0) 365 55 24 68 44  / Öffnungszeiten Di, Mi, Fr-So 13-17h, Do 15-19h

Kuratiert von Alejandro Perdomo Daniels 

Der Begriff ‚Anderssein’ kennzeichnet sich durch seine Perspektivität. Er gründet auf dem Standpunkt des Sprechenden bzw. Wahrnehmenden. Anstatt Aufschluss über eine empirisch feststellbare Realität zu geben, deutet er auf Wahrnehmungs- und Denkmodelle hin, die imstande sind, die Realität in Kategorien zu zerlegen. Kategorien, die sich entlang von Denkkonstruktionen wie Zentrum-Peripherie, Normalität-Abnormalität, Identität-Alterität, Gesundheit-Krankheit, Kultur-Subkultur entfalten. Die Dualität, die diesen Konstruktionen zugrunde liegt, charakterisiert sich ihrerseits durch eine konstitutive Asymmetrie: Während ein Pol als normativ und maßgebend gilt, stellt der andere seine mangelhafte Abweichung dar.

Dass darin Beziehungen von Privileg und Macht im Spiel sind, erweist sich als offensichtlich. Denn der Standpunkt, von dem aus Differenzen ausgemacht werden, ist in der Kultur eingebettet, die ihn ermöglicht. Und Kultur ist von Menschen erschaffen. So hängt die Vorstellung von Abweichung mit den Interessen der Gruppe zusammen, die eine privilegierte, vorherrschende Stellung im gesellschaftlichen Gefüge innehat: die Mehrheitsgesellschaft, die sich als normativ, normal, zentral, gesund, einheitlich und selbstidentisch sieht und die ihre Sicht durch Sprache, Wissenschaft und Kunst reproduziert. Der Topos des ‚Anderen’ spielt in der Konstruktion dieses Selbstbildes eine wichtige Rolle als Selbstvergewisserung. Der Andere ist somit eine Funktion des Selbst, durch die Machtordnungen zementiert werden, die Privilegien sichern: Sind Frauen das andere Geschlecht? Ist die Besonderheit der Hautfarbe von Menschen mit Albinismus ein Defekt? Sind psychische Auffälligkeiten Krankheiten? Sind Obdachlose die Versager der Gesellschaft? Sind Migranten minderwertige Fremde? Sind Queer-Personen die Verformung der Geschlechtsidentität und der Heterosexualität? Ist Subkultur die Negation von Kultur?

Diese Fragen offenbaren, dass der ‚Andere’ die Konstruktion eines Selbst ist, das sich zum universalen Ordnungsprinzip erklärt und dementsprechend die Eigenheit seiner Existenz durch den Fokus auf Differenzen übersieht. Ein Selbst, das sich als relativer Standpunkt gänzlich ausnimmt. Dass Künstlerinnen und Künstler als handelnde Individuen auf damit zusammenhängende Sachverhalte Bezug nehmen und das Anderssein thematisieren, ist ein kunsthistorischer Fakt. Dabei sind die Herangehensweisen und Perspektiven, die solche Auseinandersetzungen kennzeichnen, sehr unterschiedlich. Dies zeigt sich sowohl in den Ausdrucksformen jener Künstlerinnen und Künstler als auch in den Inhalten, die sie behandeln. Zudem divergieren die Anliegen solcher Positionen beträchtlich voneinander: Während einige Positionen eine gesellschaftskritische Haltung einnehmen, setzen sich andere für eine angemessene Repräsentation ein oder vollführen Akte der Selbstermächtigung. Andere Positionen wiederum tasten sich in den Bereich hinein, ohne Anspruch auf eine Programmatik zu erheben, doch mit dem Bedürfnis, ihrem subjektiven Empfinden Ausdruck zu verleihen.

 

Die Ausstellung Anders – Ästhetik der Differenz präsentiert eine fokussierte Auswahl sowohl regionaler wie überregionaler Künstlerinnen und Künstler, die sich mit dem Themenspektrum des Andersseins beschäftigen oder darüber reflektieren. Der Schwerpunkt liegt somit nicht auf der Bestimmung der typologischen Merkmale, die die visuelle Kunst in der Gegenwart aufweist, sondern darauf, die Besonderheit einer Thematik greifbar zu machen. Eine Thematik, deren Bedeutung im Kontext der kulturpolitischen Auseinandersetzungen der Zeit immer dringender erscheint. Diese Hürde nehmend, erörtern elf eingeladene Positionen die Besonderheiten, Komplexitäten und Widersprüche des Andersseins. Es sind Arts of the Working Class (Kollektiv: Berlin), Anna Baranowski (Leipzig), Benedikt Braun (Weimar), Gino Dambrowski (Gera), Luisa Eugeni (Perugia), Gustavo Lacerda (São Paulo), Susann Maria Hempel (Greiz), Rana Matloub (Erfurt), Claudia Rößger (Leipzig), Tejal Shah (Mumbai), Oskar Zaumseil (Greiz).

KUNST(RE_PUBLIC)

Eine Ausstellung in Zeiten der suspendierten Öffentlichkeit

Ab 1. Mai bis 30. August 2020

HALLE 14 - Zentrum für zeitgenössische Kunst Leipziger Baumwollspinnerei
Spinnereistr. 7
04179 Leipzig

officeØhalle14.org  / T: +49 341 492 42 02 / Öffnungszeiten: Di-Sa, 11-18 Uhr Barrierefreier Zugang


Eröffnung: Freitag, 1. Mai 2020,
15 Uhr online auf Facebook und Instagram

VORSPIEL/PRELUDE: ARCU&OHM, Ya-Wen Fu, Sebastian Gögel, Angelika Rochhausen, Johannes Rochhausen

AUS DER SAMMLUNG / FROM THE COLLECTION: Sven Bergelt, Jens Besser, Nori Blume, Nadja Buttendorf, Yvon Chabrowski, Lutz Dammbeck, Eckehard Fuchs, Rainer Görß, Janet Grau, Falk Haberkorn, Harry Hachmeister, Mark Hamilton, Lena Rosa Händle, , Andreas Hildebrandt, Margret Hoppe, Britta Jonas, Susanne Keichel, Anja Kempe, Dirk Lange, Nora Mesaros, Dominik Meyer, Bruno Raetsch, Martin Reich, Evelyn Richter, Ute Richter, Daniel Rode, Ricarda Roggan, Luise Schröder & Anna Baranowski, Matti Schulz, Tilo Schulz, André Schulze, Gundula Schulze Eldowy, VIP, Ya-Wen Fu, Christoph Wetzel, Katrin Winkler, Tobias Zielony

Kunst ist für alle da. Ja! Nichtsdestotrotz besteht zwischen Kunst und Öffentlichkeit ein Spannungsverhältnis. Der Wert und die Originalität von Kunstwerken haben eine Kultur der Sorgfalt hervorgebracht, so dass Werke nicht ohne weiteres geliehen und genutzt werden können. In Ausstellungen gilt in der Regel ein Berührungsverbot. Die Werke sollen schließlich nicht nur für die Gegenwart, sondern auch zukünftige Generationen zur Verfügung stehen. Häufig bedarf es eines speziellen Vorwissens, um sich die Werke erschließen zu können. Der Kunstgenuss in der Gruppe ist üblich, aber nicht in jedem Fall förderlich. Manche Werke offenbaren sich erst im intimen Zwiegespräch. Die sich aus diesen Spannungsverhältnissen ergebenden Zugänge zur Kunst sind Anlass zahlreicher Debatten – und das nicht erst heute.

Nichtsdestotrotz: Kunst ist für alle da! Das 19. Jahrhundert gründete Museen und Kunstvereine. Im 20. Jahrhundert erfand die reformpädagogische Bewegung die Museumspädagogik, um neue Zielgruppen anzusprechen. In der 2. Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts erneuerte ein staatlich geförderter Museumsboom das Ideal einer Kultur für alle. In der DDR sicherte ein Auftragssystem die Produktion von Bildern, die den sozialistischen Ideen einer volksnahen und erzieherischen Kunst entsprachen. Einen freien Kunstmarkt gab es nicht. Heute erneuern Digitalisierung und Netzkunst das Versprechen auf Zugänglichkeit und auch Produktion von Kunst durch alle.

Anlässlich der 10. Ausgabe der alljährlichen Ankaufsausstellung der Kulturstiftung des Freistaates Sachsen »WIN/WIN« nimmt das Projekt »KUNST(re_public)« die Sammlung des Kunstfonds der Staatlichen Kunstsammlung Dresden in den Blick. Hier werden die Kunstwerke gesammelt und erforscht, die der Freistaat Sachsen seit 1992 jährlich von Künstlerinnen und Künstlern ankauft. Seit 2005 führt die sächsische Kulturstiftung diesen Ankauf durch. Über die Ankäufe entscheidet ein unabhängiger Fachbeirat. Mehr als 1000 Werke gelangten so in den vergangenen 30 Jahren in die Sammlung des Kunstfonds. Nach den vorher wechselnden Präsentationen an verschiedenen Orten in Sachsen werden die Ankäufe seit 2011 nun unmittelbar nach der Jurysitzung in der Ausstellungsreihe »WIN/WIN« der Öffentlichkeit vorgestellt. Ziel des Projektes »KUNST(re_public)« ist anhand von Werken aus dieser Sammlung exemplarisch das aktuelle Verhältnis von Kunst und Öffentlichkeit auszuloten.

Dieses Projekt wurde geplant, bevor die Auswirkungen für das öffentliche Leben durch die weltweite Verbreitung des neuartigen Coronavirus auch nur denkbar waren. Niemand hätte noch vor kurzem den fast vollständigen Stillstand der Öffentlichkeit – und zwar weltweit – für möglich gehalten. Nun gilt es, unter den neuen Bedingungen das Verhältnis unserer Kunstinstitution zur Öffentlichkeit neu zu erfinden – immer mit der Perspektive, dass die Einschränkungen nicht nur reduziert, sondern auch wieder verstärkt werden könnten. Große Eröffnungen und Spinnerei-Rundgänge wird es wohl auf absehbare Zeit nicht geben. Wie Veranstaltungen, Schulprojekte und Kurse stattfinden können, gilt es noch zu entwickeln. Das Projekt startet zum planmäßigen Termin am 1. Mai 2020, 15 Jahre nach dem ersten großen Rundgang auf der Spinnerei, virtuell auf unseren Online-Plattformen. Wir stellen Werke der Sammlung vor und Menschen, die mit ihr in Verbindung stehen. Das Team der HALLE 14 hat während des Lockdowns eine Auswahl von Werken aus dem Kunstfonds zusammengestellt. Können Computerprogramme in Zukunft hilfreich sein, Ausstellungen zu entwickeln und Sammlungen öffentlicher zu machen? Der Künstler Tillmann Ohm hat den künstlichen Kurator ArCu entwickelt, der ebenfalls eine Auswahl an Werken aus den Ankäufen seit 2011 getroffen hat. Diese Auswahl wollen wir nun mit unserem Publikum diskutieren – erst online, später auch hier vor Ort.

ausstellungen

2019 Köln / D / Galerie BRUCH & DALLAS / Ideally (solo)

2019 Bukarest / ROM / Anca Poterasu Gallery /  Not everything means something, honey (vol. 2)

 

2019 Leipzig / D / Galerie Eigen + Art / Not everything means something, honey

 

2019 Leipzig / D / GFZK Galerie für Zeitgenössische Kunst / TRAKT IV

 

2018 München / D / Størpunkt - Galerie für Zeitgenössische Kunst / MONUMENTAL

 

2018 Leipzig / D / MONUMENTA FSTVL LPZG 2018 - Intelligence Of Many

 

2018 Graz / AU / KUNSTHAUS GRAZ - KULTUM / Glaube Liebe Hoffnung

 

2018 Dresden / D / HELLERAU – Europäisches Zentrum für Zeitgenössiche Kunst / 3. PORTRAITS - Hellerau Photography Award

 

2018 München / D / Størpunkt - Galerie für Zeitgenössische Kunst / LUXURIA

 

2017 Zagreb / HR / POGON – Zagreb Center for Independent Culture and Youth / Corpus Collective

 

2017 Dresden / D / Motorenhalle. Projektzentrum für Zeitgenössische Kunst -Riesa Efau / OCCUPATION / Videoarbeiten aus dem Kunstfonds/Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden

 

2017  Bordeaux / FR / METAVILLA, Installation urbaine

 

2016 / 17   Chemnitz / D / Industriemuseum Chemnitz / 6. Internationaler Marianne Brandt Wettbewerb - Materialeffekte

 

2016   Gera / D / Häselburg / WesensArt

 

2016 Leipzig / D / Kurzsüchtig - 13. Mitteldeutsches Kurzfilm Festival

 

2015 Dresden / D /  Motorenhalle. Projektzentrum für Zeitgenössische Kunst -Riesa Efau / Wohin gehen wir

 

2015 Leipzig / D / KTR Galerie / INAUGURATION

 

2015 Essen / D / Welterbe Zollverein / Contemporary Art Ruhr - C.A.R. Talente

2015 Berlin / D / Galerie EIGEN + ART / offen/open

2015 Berlin / D / Kreuzberg / SMALL SETS OF OPTIMISM FEED US WELL (solo)

2014 Leipzig / D / Museum der bildenden Künste / Herz, Reiz & Gefühl

2013/14 Berlin / D / Vertretung des Freistaates Sachsen beim Bund / Ausstellung des Kunstfonds

 

2013 Leipzig / D / Baumwollspinnerei - Halle 14 / THE SUPERSHOW

2013 Gera / D / Kunstverein Gera / Warten auf Gott

 

2013 Köln / D / ANALOG Theater / BEING PHILOTAS


2013 Leipzig / D / Baumwollspinnerei / WIN/WIN - Ankäufe der Kulturstiftung des Freistaates Sachsen 2013

2013 Bonn / D / Bundeskunsthalle / 21. Bundeswettbewerb Kunststudentinnen und Kunststudenten stellen aus

2013 Leipzig / D / Galerie EIGEN + ART / Gruppenausstellung junger internationaler Künstler

2013 Seoul / KOR / Korean Film Archive / Exis Festival - Academy Showcase

2012 Marseille / F / La GAD - Galerie Arnaud Deschin / Luna Park, The Barkeeper´s Daughter

2012 Montreuil / F / Les Rencontres du cinéma documentaire

2012 Kronach  /  D  /  Festung Rosenberg  /  Festungen innen und aussen

2012 Gera  /  D  /  Kunstverein Gera  /  Imaginary Landscape - Hommage an John Cage  

2012 Leipzig  /  D  /  Kuhturm Galerie  /  CHAPITRE V - GANGS OF BRUXELLES

2012 Berlin / D  / KW Institut für Zeitgenössischen Kunst / 7. Berlin Biennale für Zeitgenössischen Kunst

 

2012 Erfurt  /  D  /  Galerie 7b  /  oki.doki- Dokumentarfilmschau

2012 Dresden / D / Festspielhaus Hellerau / Junge Kunst Sachsen

2011 Leipzig / D / Galerie A und V / LINDENOW # 7

2011 Szczecin / POL / Galeria VHS / Basic Instincts (solo)

2011 Augsburg / D / Zeughaus Augsburg , Toskanischen Säulenhalle // TOLERABILIS

2011 Frankfurt am Main / D / Hotel Poerty No. 4

2011 Tokio / J / Aichi Prefectural Museum of Art / Cityscapes


2011 Vilnius / LIT / Kino Pasaka / Editing Spaces. Reconsidering The Public.

2011 Frankfurt am Main / D / Galerie am Dom / V Kunst Frankfurt 2011 - la vie en général

2011 Wien / AU / Österreichisches Fernsehen  - Okto TV / PAL Positions

2010 Leipzig / D / Tapetenwerk / Video was my first love (solo)

2010 Halle (Saale) / D / Galerie Die Schöne Stadt / ATTACK on LINKINGS

2010 Leipzig / D / Messehof Leipzig + Public Media Space / In public relation

2010 Linz / AU/ Stockwerkegalerie im Power Tower / Kunst im Tower

2009 Dresden / D / Galerie Doppel.DE / „On (plein) air“

2009 Bonn / D / Galerie Böttger / Art in Public Space , Videonale Bonn

2008 Leipzig / D / Galerie der Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst / Studienpreis des HGB Freundeskreises

2008 Leipzig / D / Essential Existence Gallery / OPEN (Fast!)

2008 Copenhagen / DEN / Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts / SUBLIMINAL

2007 Leipzig / D // Augustusplatz Leipzig // DING_UND_UN_DING / Interventionen im öffentlichen Raum
 

 


 © 2019 by Anna Baranowski

  • Grey Instagram Icon